Chinghiz Aitmatov greatest Turan writer

Yes i am saying Turan! call me gray wolf if you like I don’t care..But I didn’t even know that he wrote “‘Selvi Boylum Al Yazmalim” which I think was made into one of the most memorable Turkish movies from 70’s

He is my latest literary interest and well worth it for numerous reasons.  I could only find two of his books in the states one is called “The Day Lasts More Than a Hundred Years”(I ordered it) and the other one is called Jamila(Cemile?) .  They will be english translations I am afraid ;however, I will certainly be looking for a greater variety when I go to Turkey this april or may?

I read an excerpt from The Day Lasts More Than a Hundred Years about “MANKURTS” mindless slaves that is very interesting video on you tube about that :

There is a turkish version too just type mankurt on search it will pop up

Leave a comment